Annual National Level Quiz in Forensic Medicine

September 15, 2016

A National Level Forensic Medicine Quiz, “COMPOS MENTIS 2016” was organized by the department of Forensic Medicine and Toxicology, KMC, Manipal and as a part of the Indo-German convention of lindau alumni  on 15.09.2016 at Dr. TMA Pai Hall II of KMC, Manipal.  Mr Pranav Mishra and Miss Anusha, MBBS students of Kasturba Medical College, Manipal were the Masters of ceremony for the inaugural function.

All the guests lighted the lamp and inaugurated the event. Invocation was given by Miss Akshaya, MBBS student of Kasturba Medical College, Manipal.  Dr Vinod C Nayak, Professor and Head, department of Forensic Medicine and toxicology, KMC, Manipal delivered the welcome address. The Chief Guest of the inaugural program, Dr H S Ballal, Pro Chancellor, Manipal Academy of Higher Education spoke on the evolution of Compos Mentis over the years and the overwhelming response inspite of the railway bandh due to Kaveri issue. 

“JUSTICIA”, a forensic club, comprising of KMC students was inaugurated by Dr H S Ballal on this occasion. Compos mentis 2016 T shirts were released by Mr Purushotham Shetty of Ujwal developers, the guest of honour for the inaugural function.  The Dean of KMC Manipal Dr. Poornima Baliga wished all success for the event. Heads of the department of Forensic Medicine from various medical colleges graced the event.

The quiz programme was conducted by faculties and alumnis of Department of Forensic Medicine and Toxicology, Kasturba Medical College, Manipal. Total of 40 teams from all over India participated in the event.  Compos Mentis 2016 had 5 semifinal rounds comprising of eight teams, one wild card entry round and final.  Compos Mentis 2016 was won by Mr Aditya Rameshwara and Jishnu Narayanan Nair from Amrita Institute of Medical Science, Kochi. Mr Akhil and Miss Kavya from A J Shetty Institute of Medical Science won the second place and Mr Dhara Varun and Leena S from Meenakshi Medical College, Kanchipuram bagged the third place.

The valedictory function was graced by Dr Ullas kamath, Dean, Maleka Manipal Medical College, Manipal, Dr Poornima Baliga B, Dean of Kasturba Medical College, Manipal and Dr Padmaraj Hegde, Deputy Medical Superintendent, Kasturba Hospital, Manipal. Winners were given trophies, certificate and prize money by the guests. Prize money was Rs 10,000, Rs 8,000 and Rs 6,000 each for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place respectively for the winners of Compos mentis 2016. Dr. Vinod C Nayak, Head of Department of Forensic Medicine and Toxicology proposed the vote of thanks. Dr Ashwini Kumar, Assistant Professor of Department of Forensic Medicine and Toxicology was the Master of Ceremony for the valedictory function.