Dept of Orthopaedics wins laurels at KOACON 2017

February 06, 2017

The BEST POSTER award was won by Dr. Deepthi Paraj, under the guidance of Dr. Ashwath Acharya and Dr. Anil K Bhat, for the poster titled ‘A rare variant of carpal instability complex: Dorsal perilunate fracture dislocation with radiocarpal subluxation and distal radioulnar joint disruption’

The first place in the Quiz competition was won by Dr Monish Malhotra and Dr Siddarth Kamath and thus were qualified as state representatives for All India Conference to be held at Indore later this year.

The Best Thesis award was won by Dr. Naufal Nahas, under the guidance of Dr Anil K.Bhat for his dissertation on ‘Radialisation with Ulnar Cuff Osteotomy in Radial Longitudinal Deficiency’

The second place in the BEST PAPER category in the scientific sessions was awarded to Dr. Ashwath Acharya under the guidance of Dr. Anil K. Bhat for the paper titled ‘Results of nerve transfers in brachial plexus injury’

The Best published paper in indexed journal was awarded to Dr Vivek Pandey for his paper titled ‘Does scapular morphology affect the integrity of the rotator cuff’, Journal of shoulder and elbow surgery, March 2016      

Dr. Prajwal Mane won the second place in the walkathon competition held at the conference.

The Department of Orthopaedics, KMC, Manipal swept most of the laurels at the recently held 41st annual conference of Karnataka Orthopaedic Association (chapter of Indian Orthopaedic Association) on 3rd, 4th, 5th February 2017 at Hubballi. 

Achievements of faculty and post graduates in the scientific sessions were as follows: